Inspiration this week.

Hello everyone.

Last week was very busy and I was unable to update my blog. This week however is the last week of PCOS awareness month, so I wanted to write about this inspiring video I watched the other night.

During my late night journey through the internet, I stumbled across a video by Whitney Way Thore from My Big Fat Fabulous Life. The video was from Tedx Talks (link below). Whitney talks of how we can empower ourselves. She talks of PCOS, her battle with society then and now from being larger.

In the video Whitney talks of the shame that comes from gaining weight and being big. The shame of eating, the shame of trying to improve via the gym, the shame that stops you doing all the things you would love to or did love to do. It’s a shame that many larger people carry with them, but for those of us with PCOS it is perhaps more infuriating and heartbreaking knowing we are not the stereotypes people give ‘fat’ people, but we don’t get believed when we say so. For so many like Whitney and myself after you get diagnosed all the other symptoms start coming together like a jigsaw puzzle, and the weight gain or having an extremely hard time losing weight suddenly makes much more sense – but not to the outside world who don’t know about PCOS or that you are a sufferer.

I love Whitney’s positivity and I love that she is doing what she loves – dancing. I also appreciate that her confidence didn’t just appear over night, but the fact she is at that stage inspires me and fills me with hope (especially when I see the changes I have made in the last nine months alone) that I and we all can someday be at that point in our lives; that maybe one day society will change its judgemental attitude.

One final thing I have to add is, after this video I have decided that October for me will be a month of trying to do what Whitney has done, and say, ‘if I say no because of my weight’ or in my case ‘if I say no because it scares me’ then I’m going to do it (unless it’s picking up a spider or jumping out of a plane). I think this is something everyone of all sizes, all or no conditions, should try. Even if you don’t feel as though you are getting a lot out of it or you try it for a short time, something good (e.g. a lesson or two) has to come out of it and that can’t be a bad thing.

Thank you Whitney for inspiring me this week – the last week of PCOS awareness month. Thank you for getting me (of all people) to say ‘let’s try this’.

I’ll be sure to keep everyone updated on how the deliberate experiment works.

Kat. x

 

Leave a Reply

