Couch to 5K – Day 7 (22/05/17):

Hello everyone.

So today is day 7 and I had one final outdoor run to complete before being able to move on to week 2. I was psyched at first, because indoors just isn’t the same. I think part of the problem with morning runs at the moment, though, is that I am currently on sleeping tablets and, whereas last week I was able to get up and go straight away, now I need an hour or so to wake up. I’m therefore considering swapping morning runs for evening runs. Even if it’s just for a short time and will have to be changed on Friday and Saturday due to my work times.

So today I left the flat, we got to the park, by which point I wasn’t in the mood for a run. I am not a quitter so I kept going and the warm up walk felt great, I started to become more motivated. After I had been slower on the first run and my legs started to hurt I lost all motivation. I paused the walk part once we sat at a bench; feeling really rubbish, I considered coming home. I got up intending to do at least a walk. Instead I decided to carry on. I did the next three runs (making it to the half way point of the app); they were slower than usual and at times I felt my legs were going to stop and I’d fall over, but kept running. I only managed half way because I was in pain (felt like muscle pain which is a good sign, it means it is working).

I should be proud I got half way with no motivation, bad mental head space and pain. I feel like a failure today, but I’m trying to focus on the positives, and keep myself motivated. I’m having a rest day tomorrow, so won’t be blogging or running. I think this is probably a good thing.

See you in a couple of days (with hopefully more success).

Kat. x

Leave a Reply

